| New Resident Registration and Title Requirements
|New Resident Registration and Title Requirements
A new resident must register their vehicle within 30 days of establishing
residence or becoming gainfully employed.
A new resident's vehicle requirements must be done in
sequence. First you must obtain Insurance meeting the requirements of
the State of Texas. Then you need to have an Inspection performed in the
County in which the vehicle is to be registered. Thirdly, you need to
Register the vehicle with the County Tax Assessor. And finally, apply
for a State of Texas Driver's License. Proof of insurance is required
by all state and local entities.
Providers: Various. See local phone directories or internet
Collin County will accept out of state insurance (that meets Texas minimums) on the first visit for registration purposes. Proof of Insurance: Must be in the owner's name for the vehicle to be registered. "NO FAULT" Insurance coverage is not acceptable.
The minimum amount of coverage required by the State
of Texas is as follows (commonly referred to as "30/60/25"):
- $30,000 bodily injury of one person in one accident.
- $60,000 bodily injury of two persons in one accident.
- $25,000 property damage in one accident.
Please contact your insurance company for more information
and details regarding the minimum insurance requirements for vehicles
registered in the state of Texas.
Proof of Insurance is required for State Inspection, Motor Vehicle Registration, and Driver's License.
|2. State Inspection
|Locations: DPS Inspection Stations. VI-30 or VI-30-A Vin# verification form is obtained here.
A safety inspection, verification of the vehicle Id #, and an emissions
test is required in Collin County. The inspections are overseen by the Department
of Public Safety. Local State Inspection stations are located within service
stations, dealerships, and oil change stations.
Visit the Texas
Department of Public Safety: Inspection Station Locator to find a location near you.
|3. Texas Registration
Location: Collin County Tax Office. Locations and hours can be found on the vehicle registration page.
Acceptable ID is required at the time of Texas registration application or title transfer.
- Ownership Evidence:
Out of State Title, Registration Receipt, or Foreign Ownership (in
the customer's name) - If the customer's name appears on the front
of the title as the owner, they may have a choice to register only (RPO)
or apply for Texas title and register. Most Foreign vehicles must be
titled, according to the customs papers. We recommend that you apply
for Texas title because some states purge vehicle records and do not
replace lost or stolen titles.
Out of State Title, MCO (Mfg Certificate of Origin), Foreign Ownership
or Transfer by Law* (properly assigned when changing owner - If
the customer's name DOES NOT appear on the front of the title or has
not been titled in another state, it must be transferred at this time.
Registration Purposes Only (RPO) is not an option.
*Transfer by Law would include (but not limited to) court orders, police
auctions, heirship, storage liens, etc.
- Proof of Insurance: Must be in the owner's name for the vehicle
to be registered. "NO FAULT" Insurance coverage is not acceptable.
Out of State insurance accepted on the first visit to Collin County
for registration purposes. Contact the insurance company to obtain Texas
- Inspection Form: VI-30 or VI-30-A (green, blue, or white)
The Dept of Public Safety-State Inspection station will verify the Vehicle
Id number, test for safety, and test the emissions of the vehicle. The
original verification form must be brought to the Tax Office for registration
- Application for Texas Title: 130-U, completed and signed
If Registration Purposes Only, an agent or co-owner may sign the application
form VTR-272. Form can be downloaded from Texas
Department of Motor Vehicles.
When applying for Texas title, all applicants must sign the 130-U or
have authority (POA, etc.) to allow an agent to sign for the applicant.
Forms can be downloaded from Texas
Department of Motor Vehicles. All forms must be original or certified
copy. All signatures must be original. Acceptable ID is required at the time of Texas registration application or title transfer.
- Lien Information (if applicable)
If the current owner has a lien on the vehicle, please include information
on 130-U. (full name of financial institution, address, and the beginning
date of lien.)
- Release of Lien (if applicable)
If the lien is paid in full and the customer is transferring to Texas
title, the lien will be carried forward unless a release of lien is
If a vehicle is changing owner and the seller had a lien, it should
be signed off on the out of state title as paid or a separate release
of lien must be presented.
- Foreign Vehicle: Customs Papers (if applicable)
A foreign vehicle requires additional paperwork: The customs form HS-7
or Bond release letter from TxDot, entry papers, as well as the form 68-A ( for inspection
by theft department). An appointment is required for the Theft department inspection. A fee may apply. Please contact our office for a list of current, limited inspectors. For more details on Imported vehicles, see TxDMV state site:
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles: Importing a Vehicle
- Supporting Evidence (if applicable)
Out of state commercial vehicles will require a weight slip if the empty
weight is not shown on the title. Other supporting evidence could be
required on an individual basis. This could include a Power of Attorney
to allow an agent to sign documents, Federal odometer statement required
on MCO, Repossession Affidavit when repossessed, a Dealer Reassignment
if assignments are filled on title, etc.
- Fees Payment: Cash or Credit is required on the first visit to Collin
County until a driver's license can be obtained. The license is last
in the sequence. Acceptable ID is required at the time of initial registration or title
in Texas. Note: There is a service charge of 2.34% of the transaction amount (minimum $1.00)
if paying by credit card. We accept VISA, MasterCard, Discover and American Express
No Change in Ownership: New Resident fees include $33.00 application
fee, $90.00 new resident tax, and registration fees.
Standard registration fees:
|Passenger and light trucks (less than 6,000 gross)
|Trailers (0-6,000 gross weight)
|Motorcycles (all years)
All other vehicles with a gross weight above 6,000 will vary in fees (including passenger, truck, trailers, motor homes and buses, etc). Please call with plate or vin# for quote.
See more about fees collected for the State on the DMV site:
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles: Registration Fees
Change in Ownership: The title transfer fees include tax, title,
and license. Tax of 6.25% is due on either the SPV (Standard Presumptive
Value, posted on this site: www.txdmv.gov),
or the purchase price of a vehicle; or on the certified appraisal value.
The applicant may qualify for another type of tax or may be eligible
for an exemption or credit. Legislative changes, effective October 1,
2006, changed the way we calculate motor vehicle sales and use tax on
used vehicles to a private party. Please contact the office to determine
the type of sale and the tax due. The title fee is $33.00, and the registration
fees vary. Contact the office for the applicable fees. Penalty fees
may apply if the title is not transferred within 30 calendar days
from the date of sale or entry into Texas.
A completed and signed application for Texas title, Form 130-U, is required
for all new residents. Other forms may be required, such as RPO form VTR-272 (See #1 regarding ownership evidence and options for registration and/ or title). Forms can be faxed
on demand from 1-888-232-7033, or downloaded from the Texas
Department of Motor Vehicles website.
|4. Driver's License
|Location: DPS Office. Proof of Insurance and Registration is required.
Requirements for Texas Driver's License can be obtained at the
Texas Department of Public Safety.
The original receipt from the Tax Office must be taken with you to the Driver's
License office. See the DPS website for requirements, location and fees.